Home Home > 2008 > 07 > 02
Sign up | Login

Archive for July 2nd, 2008

openSUSE 11.1 Roadmap

July 2nd, 2008 by

With openSUSE 11.0 out the door, it’s time to start thinking about openSUSE 11.1. The public release of openSUSE 11.1 is scheduled for December 18, 2008, six months after the release of openSUSE 11.0.

The full schedule for the release cycle is as follows:

  • Thu, Jul 24: openSUSE 11.1 Alpha1
  • Thu, Aug 21: openSUSE 11.1 Alpha2
  • Thu, Sep 18: openSUSE 11.1 Beta1 – snapshot release
  • Thu, Oct 02: openSUSE 11.1 Beta2 – snapshot release
  • Thu, Oct 16: openSUSE 11.1 Beta3 – snapshot release
  • Thu, Oct 30: openSUSE 11.1 Beta4 – snapshot release
  • Thu, Nov 13: openSUSE 11.1 RC1 – snapshot release
  • Thu, Nov 27: openSUSE 11.1 RC2 – snapshot release
  • Thu, Dec 4: openSUSE 11.1 GM – final release
  • Thu, Dec 18 openSUSE 11.1 public release

This is, of course, a tentative schedule. Any critical or show-stopping bugs may delay betas and release candidates.

Major areas of interest in this release include:

  • GNOME 2.24
  • KDE: KDE 4.1.1 (optionally KDE 3.5.10)
  • Continued improvement in the software update stack
  • Linux kernel 2.6.27+

Want to get involved? The start of a release cycle is a great time to get involved in openSUSE development. See the How to Participate page on the openSUSE wiki for details.

See the full 11.1 roadmap on the openSUSE wiki for more details and updates.

Note that Coolo and Michl are on vacation until the end of next week, so let’s start the discussion on features once they are back on the opensuse-factory mailing list,

Andreas