Home Home > 2012 > 12 > 17 > openSUSE’s 2013 New Board Members are…
Sign up | Login

openSUSE’s 2013 New Board Members are…

December 17th, 2012 by

As of 23:00 UTC on 16 December, 2012, the openSUSE Project’s members completed the Fifth election of the openSUSE Board.  At stake were two seats of the five electable seats.  With 8 candidates, the community definitely had a broad choice of qualified candidates to choose from.

In the end, the two top vote-getters were Raymond Wooninck (tittiacoke) and Robert

Robert Schweikert

Robert Schweikert

Schweikert, (robjo) respectively.  They will join the openSUSE Board on January 9th during the transitional meeting of the regularly scheduled Project meeting heldon the Freenode IRC Channel at 17:00 UTC.

The Election Officials would like to congratulate all of thecandidates for a great campaign season.  These candidates included Matt Barringer, Richard Brown, Carl Fletcher, Manu Gupta, Chuck Payne and Stefan Seyfried.  All of these candidates demonstrated a commitment to the Project and exemplified the Guiding Principles which the Project, as a whole, is founded upon.

We join the rest of the community in looking forward to an exciting year to come as

Raymond Wooninck

Raymond Wooninck

the new Board embarks on new initiatives and directions.  And we thank the community for giving us the opportunity to serve as members of the election committee.

The openSUSE Election Committee
  • Izabel Valverde
  • Thomas Schmidt
  • Bryen M Yunashko

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

11 Responses to “openSUSE’s 2013 New Board Members are…”

  1. Congratulations Robert and Raymond! I trust that our brand of Linux is in good hands with you. I wish you, and the openSUSE Board, and contributors a happy, and fruitful New Year. Again, Congratulations.

    Rod Donovan

  2. Clarence Donath


  3. erlang

    Congrats guys! I hope OpenSuSE will be better in the future.

  4. RONY

    Hi, i’m a fun with opensuse X86_64, but I have a little problem with my HP Pavilion dv6-6172nr Entertainment Notebook PC, the only problem is Validity Fingerprint Sensor isn’t work on Linux , can you help me please?

  5. RSoger

    I just had a feeling Mr. Schweikert was going to be elected. That mustache is epic!

  6. Congratulations Robert and Raymond!

  7. Gerald

    Congratulations to you both, thank you for all the efforts you’ve already spend over the time!

  8. balkrishna

    Congratulations, hope to see some more logical changes in open suse.

  9. Congrats,

    we are supporting you

    Opensuse should again lead the Linux world

  10. gdawg

    Congratulations men.