Voting for board begins

16. Jan 2015 | Douglas DeMaio | No License

drawingThe voting polls are open. The openSUSE board election has started and all openSUSE members are eligible to cast their vote.

The board consist of one appointed chairperson and five elected members who may serve up to two consecutive terms on the board.

In this election, three seats are to be elected or a standard two-year (24 months) term.

  • Terms for both Robert Schweikert and Kosta Koudaras are set to expire.
  • Peter Linnell’s seat is up for election since he was appointed to the board as a replacement for chairman Richard Brown.

The candidates running for an openSUSE board seat are (by alphabetical order):

** Candidate is a SUSE employee. (Note that no single organization or company can control more than 40 percent of the electable board seats.)

Each openSUSE member has only three votes.

Rules for the election process are available at //

The election period ends at January 26th 2015 (23:00 UTC). All candidates have put their agenda on the wiki[2], linked as “Platform” after the candidates’ name.

To cast your vote, go to:

If you have any questions, please contact the election officials

Categories: Board


Share this post: