Home Home > 2008 > 08 > 24 > openSUSE Election Committee Founded
Sign up | Login

openSUSE Election Committee Founded

August 24th, 2008 by

We now have founded an openSUSE Election Committee consisting of:

  • Claes Backstrom (Community)
  • Andrew Wafaa (Community)
  • Marko Jung (Novell)
  • Vincent Untz (Novell, deputy)

The openSUSE election committee will organize and oversee the first openSUSE Board election, the board has authorized it to decide any open questions on the elections. Members of the committee have agreed to refrain from standing for the election to ensure a fair and impartial process.

The openSUSE board consists of four selected members (two Novell employees, two non-Novell employees) and the Novell appointed chairperson.

For details of the Board election, see http://en.opensuse.org/Board_Election/2008.

The Election Committee will soon write their own announcements about the elections.  You can reach them via election-officials@opensuse.org.

If you like to vote for the new board, please apply as member, details are available in the wiki.

On behalf of the current board, I’d like to thank the committee members for stepping up and look forward to a good election,


Both comments and pings are currently closed.

3 Responses to “openSUSE Election Committee Founded”

  1. Preston Sullivan

    Please publish profile of candidates and what makes them a good choice.

  2. anon

    I have to be honest, I really don’t care about a board, an election or anything. I can’t help but wonder if this is just over complicating the process of developing software, etc.

    • Andreas Jaeger

      Check http://en.opensuse.org/Board about the role of the board. We’ll also publish some more information later on.

      But to reassure you: The board is not involved at all directly with the development of software – unless it is needed to mitigate.